Harford County Executive David R. Craig has announced he will soon be expanding the number of community councils by two. The County Executive, along with Councilwoman Mary Ann Lisanti and Councilman Joe Woods are seeking interested individuals to serve on the Abingdon and Bush River Community Councils respectively. If you are interested in representing the Forest Greens/Perryman Community please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

An information and organizational meeting for the two proposed Community Councils will be held on January 24, 2011 from 6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. at the Abingdon Library, located at 2510 Tollgate Road in Abingdon.

“Community Councils have served as an effective vehicle for disseminating and receiving information to citizens and their communities,” remarked County Executive Craig. “We thank Councilwoman Lisanti and Councilman Woods for their interest in developing additional community councils to help better serve the needs or our constituents,” Craig stated.

Community Councils were initiated by former County Executive James M. Harkins in the fall of 1999. The councils replaced the previous Community Planning Councils which began during the Rehrmann Administration.

Community Councils are significantly different than the previous Community Planning Councils. Community Planning Councils focused on planning-related issues. Community Councils take a much broader view of local community issues and recommend to the Administration how best to address such areas of concern.

Goals of Community Councils are as follows:

- Strengthen existing communities and neighborhoods and help achieve a satisfying quality of life for county residents.

- Advise the County Executive on issues of concern and interest in local communities.

- Act as a liaison between members of the community-at-large and the Harford County Administration.

- Increase citizen participation and responsibility in community throughout Harford County.

Presently there are local Community Councils in the following geographic regions of Harford County: Dublin/Darlington; Edgewood; Fallston; Joppa/Joppatowne and Whiteford/Street. Councils shall meet at least four times per year, although they may choose to meet more regularly if necessary.

For further information regarding the work of Community Councils, or to obtain an application to serve, contact the Office of the County Executive, Office of Constituent Services at 410-638-3511, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Development Committee Report

The Forest Greens – Perryman Community Association's (FGPCA), Development Committee has published the final version of the "Community's Recommendations for Development on the Perryman Peninsula".

Read more ...

Join Our Mailing Lists